trial and error

well, the sewing continues! confession- i have this problem of starting things and not finishing them… and my scrabble letter pillows are at the top of the list. yikes! i finished the pillow cover for one of them. and that’s about as far as i got! but of course, i have been working on a few other little things. i taught myself, with the help of this tutorial and a dear friend, how to sew a zipper! my first bag was simply a trial. i just wanted to see if i could do it. so i cut up some fabric (lines weren’t straight, didn’t iron anything- maybe i’m taking this imperfection thing a little too seriously, haha), followed the step by step instructions, ripped a few seams, started over, broke a needle, replaced it, continued sewing… and then before my very own eyes- i had sewn a little bag with a zipper! it was amazing!!

this was the trial and error bag. i had never sewn burlap before- that was a bit tricky. and the whole zipper thing was challenging. i made a lot of mistakes, it is full of imperfections- but i did it! and that was the part that was important to me. i zipped and unzipped that bag for hours! my friends were surprised that i didn’t take it with me when we went out that night :) after completing the bag, i thought it would be time to give it a little flare. i love the lace and burlap combination, i just wished i had more lace to cover the whole bag. and then i made the little red flower as well. the fabric of the flower is the same fabric that was used for the lining of the bag (oh yeah, did i mention this bag was lined too?!). all this to say, my first zipper bag was a learning experience, but i’m pretty happy with the way it turned out. now i’ll just have to decide what to do with it!

i began feeling a little ambitious about this whole zipper thing and thought i’d try again. following the step by step tutorial, i came up with this little number:

a pencil case! just in time for me to start school… today! this bag stands up on it’s own and is already filled with pencils, pens, highlighters, white out, etc. :) i’m looking forward to embellishing it a little bit. maybe a burlap flower this time. or even a cluster of buttons… again, this bag is no where near perfect. each time i try, i learn something new and make note of how to make it better next time.

can’t believe it’s already February! i ditched my planner last month, but have picked it back up and started the check lists and to do’s again. here are my month calendar page for this month:

well t-minus one hour until i’m off to start semester#2 of my grad program! hard to believe that after this semester i’ll be writing my graduate thesis and applying for internship programs… but i’m so excited for this continuing journey and all that’s to come. God has been faithful every step of the way and i know He will continue to be as the months move along…

About kkb

i live for the Creator of the Universe and aim to honor Him in all that i do. as the contents of this blog space continually change with me, it remains to be a "outloud" journal for me to share my life with those that are near and dear to my heart. welcome to this adventure called life... View all posts by kkb

6 responses to “trial and error

  • Kristin R.

    AHHH!!! this is incredible! I want lessons (and apparently a sewing machine now). ;) Can’t wait to catch up. BTW just got back from CHA – I made flowers galore! Felt inspired. Thought of you.

  • Kaycie

    im liking the backgrounds you picked for these little projects. it took me a minute to figure out what they were :) I am excited to see how you progress in this. sewing that is. after all your trial bag turned out pretty wonderful. let the scraps of material and thread piles in our living room begin. ;) love you kris.

  • Kenni-mom

    Spoof talented & adventuresome. Terrific job KB! I showed grandma a pic of your first bag, she was quite impressed especially when I told her it was lined.

    Happy 2nd semester of school!

    XOXO, mom

Leave a Reply

