sew much to learn!

well this christmas break has been one of much needed rest, time with family, and fun with some new crafting. i wanted to give you all some updates on a few things before the new year…

first of all, i hope each of you had a very, merry christmas with your families, friends, and loved ones. my family had a pretty quite christmas day together with my grandparents. started off with a delicious breakfast lasagna (dad says calories don’t exist on christmas- gosh i wish that was true!), opened a few gifts, shared a few laughs, and ended with pj’s still on and “a christmas story” marathon. my sister and i did manage to find an ugly tree 2 days before christmas. check it our for yourself:

apparently this type of tree (a silver-something?) is grown near lake shasta and people either love it or hate it. we loved it. we knew this is how the tree is supposed to look, and we thought is was pretty ugly- therefore is was perfect. this getting-an-ugly-tree-last-mintue thing is turning into quite the tradition in our family. we’ll see how it continues to be carried out over the years :)

next, i have started sewing!! my grandma (aka sewing instructor) has been ever so patient with me and my little machine. we (more so my grandma than myself) figured out how to wind the bobbin and thread the machine. and then i had the chance to practice sewing. my lines were crooked and terrible! but it was fun :) i played around with my decorative stitching and all the fun designs. here’s my machine!

i bought a sewing book by amy butler. it might be a little advanced for me, but i’m taking it all one step at a time. i finished my first project from the book. i made a potholder… ha, it’s kind of a lame first project, but i thought it would be a good place to start- lots of straight lines. here’s the finished product:

it came out pretty nice. i didn’t love hand-stiching the back side of the bias (the colorful stripped part, around the edge) so it might be a while until i make another potholder. but my grandma tells me i’ll need to make at least one more to have a pair. but now that this first one is finished, i don’t think the others will be too complicated.

i’m anxious to continue sewing. i’m just not sure what exactly to make. i’m realizing that i am definitely a beginner and i might need to take it a little slower than i thought. i think my next project will be the scrabble letter pillows… my grandma says that pillow covers are a lot easier than potholders :) i’ll keep you posted as the projects continue.

well, my dad and my sister have been working on some new year’s eve gumbo. the house is filled with delicious cajun smells and warm sourdough bread. i think i’m in heaven. celebrating the new year with some friends tonight. i can’t believe 2010 is coming to an end! i’m looking forward to another year of learning and growing, celebrating and continuing to show up to the here and now.

the lovely kristin ritzau wrote a great piece on expectations going into the new year. i love her writing, storytelling, and hearing her thoughts as she goes about her life. in trying to write about her post, i find myself stumbling over words and not knowing how to say what i want to say- so i’ll stop. and let you read the article for yourself… enjoy.

be safe and happy new year!

 

*next post- a reflection on 2010… and a happy 1 year to “this adventure called life”!! :)

About kkb

i live for the Creator of the Universe and aim to honor Him in all that i do. as the contents of this blog space continually change with me, it remains to be a "outloud" journal for me to share my life with those that are near and dear to my heart. welcome to this adventure called life... View all posts by kkb

3 responses to “sew much to learn!

  • David L

    I refuse to believe that is the first thing you’ve ever sewed. It looks awesome!
    My sister got a book called The Big Ass Book of Crafts or something like that, & I couldn’t help but tell her about your blog.
    I bet you’d love the book too.

  • Kenni-mom

    Woohoo to girls being home at Christmas, ugly trees, beautiful crafts, delicious cuisine & those oh so silly moments. And this terrific blog!

    XOXO, mom

  • Kelsey

    I’m so proud! Those lines are so straight!!! :)

Leave a Reply

