colors and dust

i haven’t posted anything from my art journal in months, so i thought i’d share a little bit of what’s been going on lately…

i finished my beloved art journal the other day. i did one last page and then felt like i needed to light a candle to commemorate the year dedicated to this journal. here’s the page i did:

i spent some time reflecting on the past year. i hold so many memories in these pages- times of joy and sorrow, challenges and growth. this life we live is full of vibrant colors and awe, there are such sweet moments of celebration and love throughout the pages. and yet there is a dust that is left behind that fades, but never quite disappears. this year was one that stretched me in so many ways and the experiences will stick with me throughout my lifetime. i have learned so much this past year and know that there is still so much ahead of me. finishing this journal was a mix of feelings: sad, accomplished, proud, nostalgic… but i also could not wait to start what was next. i feel like the process of completing this journal was a great metaphor for where i am in life right now as i finished my undergraduate career and am moving on to pursue my master’s degree.

so as i’m moving on in school and life, i’m also moving on to a new wonderful, beautiful journal.

this beauty was given to me by my dear friend and mentor Kristin Ritzau. it is another Sabrina Ward Harrison journal and the timing for it couldn’t be more perfect. i started this new journal the same night i finished my other one…

i am ready for this new year. the life rhythm that i have completely memorized is beginning to change and it’s a bit scary. but i know that this new rhythm will be full of surprises and great memories. and i also know that so much of what i have learned in the past will need to be re-learned and re-visited. but, i’m off and on my way. i have so much to celebrate in this new chapter- praises for an incredible graduate program, so thankful for this lovely house, blessed by my gracious and beautiful roommates, and this great excitement for all that’s to come.

i guess you could say i am right where i’m supposed to be in this adventure called life…

About kkb

i live for the Creator of the Universe and aim to honor Him in all that i do. as the contents of this blog space continually change with me, it remains to be a "outloud" journal for me to share my life with those that are near and dear to my heart. welcome to this adventure called life... View all posts by kkb

Leave a Reply

