words of comfort

i recently came across the first book i ever learned to read.

it’s made up of simple sentences about a cute little pig that likes and possibly even loves herself. this pig knows how to take care of herself by eating right, bathing, exercising, and doing things she loves, like drawing and baking. most importantly, she knows that it’s okay to make mistakes and to try again when things don’t seem to be going right. what a message for a four-year-old! i wish so deeply that  i could have held onto these things during my adolescence. but the world got a hold of my young heart and mind and messages such as the one delivered by my childhood favorite were quickly forgotten.

but not all hope is lost. as i’ve gotten older and started to truly learn about myself, i have found books and words that bring as much joy to my heart as the i like me pig. in a world that is telling me who i should and shouldn’t be, i have discovered authors and songwriters that write and sing words that bring peace to my soul. there is something about words from someone else that help me realize- i am not alone, and that there is at least one other person who gets it, whatever it may be…

i confessed to a few friends recently (and am now confessing to you) that sometimes when the words of a book are just so good, that i can’t help but close the book and hold it to my heart. in those times i have felt peace, joy, relief, and carry that sense that someone else understands. and now, i’ll even admit, i’ve actually taken a nap with a few of my books… scandalous, i know.

the piece that i wrote on this page says, “sometimes, what i read brings so much comfort to my soul, that i hold the book in my arms and close to my heart as if i’m holding a dear friend. and all of a sudden, i remember that i am not alone.” have you been there? has a song, a book, or a verse of Scripture ever so perfectly described where you were at, that it made you sigh in relief? take time to journal those lyrics or passage from the book. reflect upon them and find out just why these words mean so much to you. hold the words close to you and remember: you are not alone. and you are deeply loved by the Creator of all words, continuous comfort, and perfect peace.

About kkb

i live for the Creator of the Universe and aim to honor Him in all that i do. as the contents of this blog space continually change with me, it remains to be a "outloud" journal for me to share my life with those that are near and dear to my heart. welcome to this adventure called life... View all posts by kkb

One response to “words of comfort

  • Kenni-Mom

    How the words & laughter of my daughters warm my soul. Sometimes I sit, holding the memories tight to my chest just wishing they were still little enough to sit on my lap. How proud I am of them both, their own unique & wonderful adventures. I cannot believe that they are mine.

    I love you both, infinite X’s & O’s, Mom

Leave a Reply

