prompted

prompt·ed: tran. verb

1. to give rise to; inspire

2. to assist by suggesting or saying the next words of something forgotten or imperfectly learned

in thinking of something to write about today, i decided that i want to talk more about journal prompts. i talked about them in a previous post, but i wanted to take some time to explain a little more and maybe provide a little direction. as i have said before, prompts allow me to engage a different thought process. i could go through an entire day without checking-in with myself. while that idea may seem strange, how could i possibly “belong to myself” (see post below) if i do not know myself and/or do not check-in with my heart and mind?

i have this incredible book by sabrina ward harrison that i’ve mentioned before. the true and the questions is filled with different journal prompts on different areas of life: identity, bravery, ache & loss, love, and home & family. i have never encountered a prompt that wasn’t applicable. even if i’m not feeling any sense of ache or loss, a prompt from this section may still spark my thoughts in a new way. in the past, i have been guided through prompts- meaning someone else has picked them out and has read them aloud to me. but there have been other times that i have done prompts on my own, i open to a random page of the book, pick one of the two or three prompts presented, and start writing.

these prompts challenge my daily thoughts and help me to dig deeper. they give me space to express dreams and desires and sometimes help me discover reality and truth. the different prompts have been a huge part of my processing through life events, situations, and stages or milestones. i want to encourage you to try some prompts this week with me…

prompt writing is nothing fancy at all. all you need is a pen and piece of paper. i tend to use markers or crayons because i use ballpoint pens in classes all day long. and lets make one thing clear: prompts note taking. so create a space for yourself. set the mood- put on some reflective, calming, or inspiring music. light a candle. open the window. sit in the sunshine… whatever it is you need to do to make a safe space for yourself. a space to dive into your heart and discover what’s inside. or maybe just shake off a little dust. allow the prompts to guide you, ultimately to yourself.

strength, beauty, and peace each day

my favorite candle... strength, beauty, and peace each day

i stated earlier that i wanted you to join me in doing prompts this week. i don’t expect you all to go and buy the true and the questions right this second (although it’s completely worth it!), so i’ll provide a few for this week…

– today i carry…

– i am holding back…

– i will give myself…

– oh in love i need…

– i want to create a home that is filled with…

i would love to hear about your interaction with these prompts. take time to sit with them and soak in all that comes from them. allow God to reveal Him or Herself to you. keep your heart open. let love and grace come with each breath you take in.

About kkb

i live for the Creator of the Universe and aim to honor Him in all that i do. as the contents of this blog space continually change with me, it remains to be a "outloud" journal for me to share my life with those that are near and dear to my heart. welcome to this adventure called life... View all posts by kkb

One response to “prompted

Leave a Reply

