sometimes i…

as i look back on pages i have created, i find that my art journals hold many of my dreams. it’s easy to get caught up in this fast-paced life and forget about the things that inspire us to grow and live differently. my journals hold me accountable to those dreams and inspirations. as i read old pages, i am reminded of things i want to do and challenge myself to live them out.

i have heard of people having dream journals and i guess you could say my art journal resembles that. it is a place to paint and write about these dreams, aspirations, and goals without any inhibitions. i did this page a while ago with the prompt “sometimes i…” . sabrina ward harrison is big on prompts and i have used many of them from her book the true and the questions. while pretty self-explanatory, the prompts help me to dig into a different part of my thought process and encourage me to write about something other than “today i went to class, picked my nose, and bought groceries. it was cool”. when someone talks about their journal, i normally imagine it as a place where one jots down their day to day and maybe some emotional feelings behind those events… this gets old to me. my day to day isn’t always very adventurous. so sometimes, i choose prompts to get my mind rolling.

i know my dreams are not always realistic, but there are ways of pursuing them to a certain degree. check it:

#1- while this blog is by no means a professional setting, it is a way of showing my art to “the world”. my lovely roommates and friends have been the spectators of my madness of a journal and have been so encouraging through this process. so even if i’m not publishing my art journals or painting pieces on canvas and selling them (i guess this what i consider professional), i am putting my art on a sort of public domain that is being shared with others.

#2- quitting school to travel the world just months before graduation would be a horrible idea. but i do get an itch to get out the U.S. and dive into another country. i am thankful to have had a number of beautiful opportunities to do so and i can’t wait for the next adventure. i’m thinking greece, japan, italy, india, austrailia… anyone wanna come?! anyone have frequent flier miles?  ; )

#3- well many of you know my secret, or maybe not so secret, obsession with anthropologie. i find inspiration in the fine details of the clothing, dazzling accessories, and in the uniqueness of each store’s layout. if you haven’t had a chance to check out an anthro store- find one or two or three. and go. walk through slowly and admire the beauty of it all. you’ll be amazed. i just know it!

so today, i challenge you to journal about your dreams. no matter how great or how little. little dreams can be made real and great dreams are great motivation. dive into that heart of yours and dig through the desires. paint, write, or make a collage about them and put it in a place where you can see it. let those dreams inspire you to live differently. i need to be reminded of this just as much as anyone. there are times i leave my dreams in the dust. but when i open up my journal to re-read these things, i have hope that one day i can make some of my dreams become my reality.

check out The Weepies for some sweet, reflective art music…

About kkb

i live for the Creator of the Universe and aim to honor Him in all that i do. as the contents of this blog space continually change with me, it remains to be a "outloud" journal for me to share my life with those that are near and dear to my heart. welcome to this adventure called life... View all posts by kkb

One response to “sometimes i…

  • Meghan

    I have the coolest friend in the whole world. KB, you are amazing! This blog is amazing. Your work is amazing.

    Please post more, I’m salivating for more pictures and thoughts.

Leave a Reply

